Day 2: part 1.

August 6, 2012 § Leave a comment

For Day 2, Ted, Riho, and I went to the places we helped out at and said hello and listened to their stories of the tsunami, and how it affected them. We also passed out the crochet cats and the eco bags that people of Japanese American Citizens League gave us to take back.

Riho and I starting the day with the Crochet animals and the eco-bags.

Crochet cats made by me, my mom, and Ayumi.

Kobayashi-San:

She seems to be more energetic than before.

She lives right near where Kaska (the building that I slept in while I volunteered) is, and even though I didn’t help out her place, the other volunteers went multiple times to clear the sludge out of her front yard and plant flowers in her garden.

Her husband was hospitalized after the tsunami, and unfortunately he passed away 2 months ago. With the support of her friends and neighbors, she seems to be doing okay.

Ozashi-san:

Ozashi-san and her dog, Muk.

She didn’t think she could live in her own house again, after the damage, there was a car stuck in her front yard, sludge and water everywhere, everything destroyed. She was planning to tear it down, but with the help of the volunteers, she was able to have her home all repaired. She was saying how happy she was to be able to live in her house again. She lost her brother in the tsunami, who lived right next door. And she said “It would be a lie if I said I wasn’t lonely, but I am so happy that I am back home.”

Ozashi-san’s brother’s house. He was taken away by the tsunami.

She lost her brother in the tsunami, who lived right next door to her. At the time, her dog ran out, so she followed her dog, but her brother decided to stay in his house. And later on, she realized that he was taken by the water.

Ozashi-san and her dog, Muk.

When we tried to get a group picture, her dog started humping me. We had a good laugh.

She was so full of life and very funny.

Arakawa-san:

Last year, me and 14 other volunteers cleaned Arakawa-san’s house, storage, and yard. This house was very big, especially in Japan. I was helping out in the yard and oh lord, his yard was huge. I think we took the whole day to clean his place.

Last year:

Last year: Peaceboat volunteers at Arakawa-san’s house.

I was looking forward to seeing this place because this was the one that taught me teamwork.

Arakawa-san was so thankful for all the volunteer help that he gave a key of his apartment to Ted when he heard he hasn’t showered in 5 weeks since he was so busy.

This year:

Arakawa-san’s house. No one lived there when we went, and it was just the same as we left it last year, except the weeds growing in. Photo by Riho.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 2: part 1. at Airi Katsuta.

meta

