Day 6: Strolling around Kaska, Ishinomaki Pet Center

August 14, 2012 § Leave a comment

Riho went back to Tokyo after giving the knitted clothing to Kasumi-So, so Day 6 begins my lone trip. I’ve always had my family around me whenever I traveled and depended on them so much, so I was kind of scared. Would I be able to connect with the locals? Would I be able to speak Japanese? Would I get lost? All these questions kept worrying me, but I tried to be brave, and started riding my bicycle to familiar places I visited last year. It was only a 20-30 minute bike ride from the hotel.

Karaoke

Last year, this karaoke place was the only bar that was open in this area. It was very old fashioned, 100 yen per song, and it was like being in someone’s living room. They didn’t think I was Japanese so they told me to sing something, and I sang a Christina Aguilera song… Though I think I’m a diva when I’m singing in my car, no one should be forced to hear me sing. haha. But they were kind and clapped for me. Teehee. It was nice to see them still in business.

So clean.

Last year, the roads were still rough and covered in dirt, and hardly any stores were open on this street. Now it’s all repaired and clean! Clean-ups around areas that are being used were very fast. It’s crazy to see the gap between this and homes around the water. But all that matters is that it’s being done.

Last year, piles of trash everywhere.

Last year, this area was pretty rough. There were piles of trash being gathered everywhere you looked. Sludge still covered the ground as it gave off a foul smell. The building with the colorful sign was a camera store.

CLEAN!

This year this place was all cleaned up. The camera store relocated to another area.

Hide out.

Nap time.

This was my favorite place. It’s a greenbelt around the river, and the trees are big enough to make shade in the hot sun. At night time, I remember hearing crickets chirp. This was the place to be to unwind from a long, hardworking day. This man was taking a nap on my favorite bench.

Buddha got his arm fixed.

Last year, this buddha lost his arm and it was being held up by ropes. The garden itself was done very beautifully and I’m glad the Buddha was fixed.

 

 

Ishinomaki Pet Center

I saw this pet center everyday last year while staying at Kaska. I was curious what the inside looked but it wasn’t open when I went. So I decided to pay a visit.

I was greeted by these very energetic geese as I walked up to the store. They wouldn’t stop quacking!! I wasn’t sure if it was a farm animal store or a pet store. I saw turkeys, chickens, baby chicks, rabbits, guinea pigs, goldfish, cats, and dogs.

Guinea pigs.

Meeeow.

I LOVE CATS. These adorable kitties made me miss my own, Whiskers and Bailey. I wanted to play with them more but the chihuahuas behind me wouldn’t stop barking so I had to leave the room. Chihuahuas are so loud! They just kept growling at me!

Ruff. Frenchies are the best. They’re so cute. This one had a scar on her hip, but she was such a sweetheart.

After being in the store for 15 minutes, the owner came out and I got to ask her how its been since 3-11. She said “On 3-11, I didn’t think a tsunami was going to come. We live upstairs of the store so me and my family rushed up. Unfortunately we didn’t have time to save the animals.” Since this area is very close to the coastline, the water level was very high and the animals in their cages drowned. “We had to start all over. It was sad, and I feel very sorry for the animals.”

Chirp!

They did all the cleaning by themselves. “I saw the volunteers walking around a lot last year. But we did all the cleaning by ourselves, just me and my father. We had a lot of free time, so it wasn’t a problem.” There weren’t enough volunteers to go around to every place in town.

TURTLE

“We used to have a lot more animals. Parrots, large aquarium fish, different breeds of cats and dogs, ferrets, etc. We had to start from scratch. We used to have lots of customers who owned large aquariums so they came to the store a lot. But now, even if they still have their tanks, they live in temporary homes so they don’t have the space. Or they don’t want to own any pets because they’re scared that the tsunami might come again. They come visit me from time to time. They don’t buy anything but they just come to see the animals. If you love animals, you never stop loving them no matter what.”

Bunnies! Fluffy fur balls.

“Having pets is a luxury. It’s not a need for survival so we don’t have customers anymore. Businesses like insurance, construction, cars, homes, and grocery stores are doing just fine. But stores like us, pet stores or fishing supplies, they’re hobbies. So to get by, we started a traveling zoo. A lot of events and schools have us come and bring our animals. They want the children to smile and be happy, and animals have the power to do that.”

“My daughter is going to love this.”

“I hope things will be back to where it was again, but I know it will take a long time. But I hope people will start having pets again, because I know how much joy they bring to our lives.”

I gave her one of the crochet cats and she really liked it. “I have a daughter and she loves stuffed animals. She’s going to love this. We’ll treasure it.”

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 6: Strolling around Kaska, Ishinomaki Pet Center at Airi Katsuta.

meta

