Day 8: Taiwan Friends

August 19, 2012 § 2 Comments

As I was riding my bike along the Manga Road, I saw pretty colors peeking from the corner of the street. I stopped to see what was going on, and saw adorable chalk drawings on the pavement. I’ve never seen chalk drawing so beautiful in my life. Seeing this brought a smile to my face as well as the locals. This brightened up the street!

Good luck charm from Taiwan.

After staring and lurking and taking a bunch of pictures, these nice people explained to me that they’re a group of artists from Taiwan supporting Ishinomaki. Different styles of artists were here and they told me they painted murals on houses and made public art to bring joy into the town.  They also gave me a good luck charm :)

Pretty pastel chalks.

They told me I can contribute to the drawings so I put my drawing skills to the test….

Meow.

And I drew a cat. But someone said it looks like Pink Panther. I guess they’re kinda right lol

I’m messy wherever I go.

Soooo pretty!

My cat looks like it was done by a 4 year old compared to this great looking mountain next to it! Mad props!

Sunflowers.

Large mural on the side of a building.

Lots of locals told me they are really thankful for the organization from Taiwan. Some elderly people kept their cash at home so they lost most of their savings in the tsunami. The locals said the people from Taiwan handed out money to anyone who got in line. These people were painting a very large mural on the side of the building. They each had their own distinctive style. I didn’t stay long enough to see it completed, so I can’t wait to go back and check it out :)

 Since they were so nice to me, and anyone who helps Ishinomaki is automatically my friend, I gave them one of the crochet cats! I hope they liked it :)

Its crazy how you meet so many different kinds of people through the same cause. I wish them the best of luck :)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Day 8: Taiwan Friends

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 8: Taiwan Friends at Airi Katsuta.

meta

