Day 8: Hidemaruya

September 3, 2012 § 2 Comments


After seeing the beautiful display from the artists from Taiwan, I went to a souvenir store right down the street. It was called Hidemaruya, and they had Ishinomaki t-shirts that they sold for around $20. The shirts said things like “Never give up Ishinomaki” or “Ganbappe, Ishinomaki”.  I had seen these shirts last year but didn’t have money to spend when I was volunteering, so I was happy to purchase them :)

After looking around the store for a while, the owner asked me where I came from. When I said the United States and that I was here last year volunteering, she was surprised and let me sit down and look at her photo album that contained lots of tsunami related pictures/newspaper clippings. She was hesitant at first but she started sharing her stories with me.

“It was like a dream”, she said. “It all happened in an instant…just one moment… like what happened?” On 3-11, she was here at the store, and her house is on the second floor. She felt it shook, and ran out side, but she heard her neighbors shouting that the tsunami was coming. She ran up to her home, and ended up staying up there for 2 days. At night it was cold with snow falling down, only a gas stove to keep her and her husband warm, and only one candle for light. Thankfully, she had a fridge full of food so they didn’t starve like many of her neighbors.

“There were many people that I knew that lost their lives looking for their family members. They went out when the tsunami came,” she said almost in a whisper. “You have to take care of your own life first. Because what do you have when you lose yourself? Just make a place to meet up when things like this happen.”

Unlike all the people that I met, she didn’t aestheticize the recovery effort. She wasn’t negative about it, but rather realistic. “The recovery/reconstruction isn’t in the near future.” She said with lines between her eyebrows, “We’ve become so dependent on other people, especially volunteers. We can’t be like this forever.” She said she felt like she was going crazy after losing her store. Her store sold yarn and knitting products. “I can’t just not do anything. I told myself I must become independent.” And that’s why she started a whole new venue making souvenir t-shirts. She felt that with volunteers and tourists coming into Ishinomaki, she could let them take a memory of Ishinomaki with them by selling these shirts.

After learning her love for knitting/crocheting, I gave her one of the crochet cats. She loved it! “Thank you so much. I want to start my yarn store again, but it’s so hard when there’s hardly any customers anymore. I hope Ishinomaki will become a better place than before. I know it’s going to take a while, but my wish is that Ishinomaki will be more independent.”

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Day 8: Hidemaruya

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 8: Hidemaruya at Airi Katsuta.

meta

