Thousand Cranes at Arizona Matsuri Festival

March 26, 2013 § 1 Comment

Photo by Cory Baumer

Photo by Cory Baumer

I’m disappointed I haven’t been able to blog as much as I’ve wanted to recently, but glad there’s so
much to blog about!

I got to be a part of Arizona Matsuri Festival on February 23rd and 24th again this year and
had a fantastic time. It was a rush meeting thousands of people and getting the opportunity to share
with them the story behind 1,000 Cranes as well as the process of creating the one a kind exhibit from
scratch. To read more about the process, check out my other blog post

Unlike last year, I got the transportation of 1,000 cranes down to a science! Because the cranes are
strung on fishing line individually with as many as ten cranes per strand, putting each strand in a
separate bag saved hours of set-up time.

Photo by Cory Baumer

Photo by Cory Baumer

Even though every strand of blue and white cranes was weighted down with a marble to prevent
tangles, the Sunday weather had other plans. Gusts of fierce wind kept me on a ladder all day
untangling (in a dress no less!). For some reason many were delighted to receive my business card
from a few feet higher in altitude. The display was even visited by a local news crew! It was a unique
experience giving a video interview with so much sunscreen in my eyes that I didn’t know which way
was up:)

The best part of the festival this year was all the positive reactions I got to the installation. It became
clear to me that 1,000 Cranes has an aesthetic that appeals to so many different people. All I can think
of now is: how am I going to top this?

Local artist Airi Katsuta and her thousand cranes

Photo by Tim Poole Photography

A very kind and talented local photographer and blogger wrote a wonderful blog post about me and the
festival. Check it out! Poolephotographyblog.com

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Thousand Cranes at Arizona Matsuri Festival

  • Mustang.Koji says:

    Yes, its been a while since I’ve read about your trip to Japan with your sister. What a noble gesture indeed and heart-wrenching at times as well. Your blogger friend also did have a nice write-up on your tsuru paper…how original! Omedetou.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Thousand Cranes at Arizona Matsuri Festival at Airi Katsuta.

meta

