Update!

July 2, 2013 § 1 Comment

Oh gosh, it’s already JULY! Am I getting old or is time just flying soooo fast!?

Anyways, I feel very bad that I haven’t updated this blog in over 2 months, and a lot has happened so I wanted to give you an update.

IMG_6595

I finally had my first SOLO show! WOOHOOOO! In April. Sorry it took so long to tell you all.
The show was at Method Art Gallery, located in Old Town Scottsdale on Marshall Way. It was the premier of my project “Resilience“. It was a great opening night with my friends and family there, and a bunch of people who strolled in during ArtWalk. I had a great time talking to everyone and conversing about my work. Thank you to everyone who stopped by!

Photo by Robert Miley

And then right after that, I had my First Friday debut at the Grace Chapel Gallery in Downtown Phoenix. It was an event called “The Night of the Thousand Cranes” by Release The Fear. Release The Fear is a non-profit organization that helps kids in juvenile detention to focus their behavior into fine arts and music. They contacted me to be a part of the event to show my Thousand Cranes display and I said, why not? Everyone was so nice, Robert, Blair, and Bill are such wonderful people and they worked with me to find a perfect spot in the gallery. The building is actually connected to an abandoned church that burnt down in the 80’s (I think), and it looked post-apocalyptic. Super awesome!
The Night of the Thousand Cranes went well, with the talented Ken Koshio playing his Taiko Drums, Encolor teaching people how to write Kanji Calligraphy, people folding origami, and cosplay people performing. It was a great night filled with music, art, and laughter. I had an amazing experience with talking in front of a crowd and giving a little speech about my installation and the meaning of the Thousand Cranes. And Channel 5 stopped by and interview Robert in front of my cranes! Awesome exposure, right? :)

The cranes will be up in the Release the Fear headquarters, Grace Chapel, 302 W. Monroe, in the downtown Phoenix Arts District, until September.

I’ve had a few inquiries on my photographs recently so I’m very excited about what’s coming next for me. I’m just keeping my fingers crossed and patiently working away until then. Don’t stop, get it get it.

 

Next post is going to be about Clutch Jewelry, and the trip we took to Payson!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ One Response to Update!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Update! at Airi Katsuta.

meta

